Search  |  Advanced Search
Home    Thriller, Crime & Mystery    Cold Sun  
CATEGORIES
FICTION
  +  Anthology
  +  Drama
  +  General & Literary Fiction
  +  Graphic Novels & Comics
  +  Historical Fiction
  +  Horror
  +  Mythology
  +  Paranormal Romance
  +  Poetry
  +  Romance
  +  Sex & Erotica
  +  Sff (science Fiction & Fantasy)
  +  Short Stories
  +  Thriller, Crime & Mystery
  +  Travel & Adventure
  +  Women's Commercial & Chick-lit
  +  Young Readers (5-8)
  +  Others
NON-FICTION
  +  Activity Book
  +  Anthology
  +  Anthropology
  +  Antiques And Collectables
  +  Architecture
  +  Art & Design
  +  Astrology & Occult
  +  Biography & Memoir
  +  Business, Management & Economics
  +  Colouring Books
  +  Controversial Knowledge & Mysteries
  +  Cookery, Food & Drink
  +  Cultural Studies
  +  Diy & Craft
  +  Education
  +  Essays
  +  Family & Relationships
  +  Fashion
  +  Film, Theatre & Tv
  +  Gardens & Gardening
  +  Gender And Ethnic Studies
  +  General Non-fiction
  +  Gift & Novelty
  +  Graphic Novels & Comics
  +  Health, Diet & Fitness
  +  History
  +  Hobbies And Pastimes
  +  Humour
  +  It & Computers
  +  Journalism
  +  Language
  +  Law
  +  Lifestyle
  +  Literary Essays
  +  Literature & Criticism
  +  Mathematics
  +  Medicine
  +  Military History
  +  Mind, Body & Spirit
  +  Music
  +  Natural History, Environment & Conservation
  +  New Age & Mbs
  +  Older Readers (8-12)
  +  Parenting & Childcare
  +  Performing Arts - Music, Tv & Film
  +  Pets & Animal World
  +  Photography
  +  Poetry
  +  Politics & Current Affairs
  +  Popular Psychology
  +  Popular Science
  +  Prose
  +  Psychology
  +  Quizzes & Puzzles
  +  Reference
  +  Religion & Philosophy
  +  Science & The Environment
  +  Sciences
  +  Self-help
  +  Sex & Erotica
  +  Social History
  +  Social Science
  +  Social Sciences
  +  Social Services
  +  Sociology
  +  Sports & Leisure
  +  Translation
  +  Travel & Adventure
  +  True Crime
  +  War
  +  Women's Studies
  +  Younger Readers (5-8)
  +  Others
CLASSICS
  +  Anthology
  +  Drama And Screenplays
  +  Fiction
  +  Poetry
  +  Others
CHILDREN'S AND YA FICTION
  +  Adventure Stories
  +  Animal Stories
  +  Anthology
  +  Baby & Toddler
  +  Classics
  +  Colouring Books
  +  Family & Relationships
  +  Fantasy
  +  Film, Theatre & Tv
  +  General & Literary Fiction
  +  Graphic Novels & Comics
  +  Health, Diet & Fitness
  +  Historical Fiction
  +  Horror
  +  Mythology
  +  Paranormal Romance
  +  Picture Books
  +  Poetry
  +  Romance
  +  Sff (science Fiction & Fantasy)
  +  Short Stories
  +  Thriller, Crime & Mystery
  +  Women's Commercial & Chick-lit
  +  Younger Readers (5-8)
  +  Others
CHILDRENS AND YA NON-FICTION
  +  Activity Book
  +  Anthology
  +  Art & Craft
  +  Biography & Memior
  +  Biography & Memoir
  +  Classics
  +  Cookery, Food & Drink
  +  Education
  +  Film, Theatre & Tv
  +  General Non-fiction
  +  Health, Diet & Fitness
  +  History
  +  Hobbies And Pastimes
  +  Humour
  +  Language
  +  Mind, Body & Spirit
  +  Music
  +  Mythology
  +  Natural History, Environment & Conservation
  +  New Age & Mbs
  +  Pets & Animal World
  +  Photography
  +  Poetry
  +  Politics & Current Affairs
  +  Popular Science
  +  Psychology
  +  Quizzes & Puzzles
  +  Reference
  +  Religion & Philosophy
  +  Science & The Environment
  +  Sciences
  +  Self-help
  +  Social Sciences
  +  Sports & Leisure
  +  Travel & Adventure
  +  Younger Readers (5-8)
  +  Others
0-5 YEARS
5-7 YEARS
7-9 YEARS
9-11 YEARS
12+ YEARS
Others
BOOK OF THE MONTH
RUSSIA: : REVOLUTION AND CIVIL WAR 1917-1921
Antony Beevor
1399

Between 1917 and 1921 a devastating struggle took place in Russia following the...(+)

Author Spotlight
Harini Nagendra is a Professor of Sustainability at Azim Premji University Bangalore India and the author ...(+)
  Harini Nagendra  
 
 
 
Cold Sun
Anita Sivakumaran

Classification : Thriller, Crime & Mystery
Pub Date : Aug 12, 2021
Imprint : Dialogue Books
Page Extent : 336
Binding : PB
ISBN : 9780349701561
Price : 599

About the book

'Wow just incredible... The killer's identity just took my breath away... Breathtaking suspense and mystery that will blow you away... Outstanding. ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐' Surjit's Book Blog⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

In the golden afternoon light, the young woman lies perfectly still, her dark hair fanning out behind her. She is dressed in a rose red sari, shot through with gold. Just like the others.

The last time Detective Vijay Patel visited India, he vowed never to return. After a devastating accident, the country holds only bitter memories and broken dreams. But when three young women are murdered in mysterious circumstances, Patel is pulled back to his past.

Leaving his fiancée Sarah behind in London, Patel rushes to a beautiful apartment on a tree-lined street where the body of Sarita Mohan, a successful businesswoman, has been found. Floating on a sea of black satin, she is dressed in red silk, a tiny silver ring on the fourth toe of her right foot.

Desperate to find a link between the murders, Patel digs into the other cases and spots the missing link. The toe ring is a symbol of marriage and the distinctive red saris are traditionally worn for weddings. What is the killer trying to tell them? Why leave each body posed like a bride?

Then Sarah is kidnapped, and Patel is frantic to find the woman he loves before she becomes the next victim. As he desperately re-reads the killer's last cryptic message, Patel finds the critical clue he's been searching for, and hopefully a chance to save Sarah.

Determined to rescue the woman he loves, can Patel outwit the deadliest killer he has ever faced? Or is he already too late?

Utterly unputdownable, this breathless thriller will keep you guessing until the final, shocking twist. Fans of Ian Rankin, Abir Mukherjee and Val McDermid will be totally gripped!

What readers are saying about Cold Sun:

'Wow, wow, wow. I just couldn't put this one down. An absolute masterpiece. Gritty, fast paced, brilliant... Loved loved all the characters... One of the best crime books I have ever read. Just wonderful. Will be recommending this to everyone.' Bestselling author Renita D'Silva ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Absolutely gripping... So intense... The twists I encountered along the way were so unexpected... I could not stop to put this down at any point... Gave me tingles... I was so nervous about how this book was going to play out.' Twilight Reader ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

'Completely pulled in... I have devoured this book in one sitting.' Little Miss Book Lover 87

'Twisty... I didn't guess the denouement at all, even as the book was racing towards its conclusion.' The Quick and the Read

'Exciting... A super-gripping new thriller series... You'll be kept guessing as to the killer's identity throughout... Will have you totally hooked.' Cosmopolitan

'Gripping... Very well drawn characters... Recommended!' NetGalley Reviewer

'Fast-paced and riveting.' Beyond the Books

'Anita Sivakumaran is an exciting new name in crime fiction.' The Times


Read Review   Want to write a review?
A great start to a projected series, both clever and funny, in which the clash of cultures is as fascinating as the crime.
Wow, wow, wow. I just couldn't put this one down. An absolute masterpiece. Gritty, fast paced, brilliant... Loved loved all the characters... This is definitely one of the best crime books I have ever read. Just wonderful. Will be recommending this to everyone>
[Cold Sun] is as eye-opening as it is entertaining>
Lively>
A really insightful and interesting read. Cold Sun is an exciting start to what should be a super-gripping new thriller series from Sivakumaran.
A great start to a projected series, both clever and funny, in which the clash of cultures is as fascinating as the crime>
A stylish and entertaining thriller offering a vivid and authentic insight into an unfamiliar but fascinating culture'>
Anita Sivakumaran is an exciting new name in crime fiction...Brutal and lyrical by turns, Cold Sun is the first in a promising series>
A stylish and entertaining thriller offering a vivid and authentic insight into an unfamiliar but fascinating culture>
Brutal and lyrical by turns, Cold Sun is the first in a promising series>
Fascinating, often irreverently funny, stuff and Patel is a worthy enough hero>

A really insightful and interesting read. Cold Sun is an exciting start to what should be a super-gripping new thriller series from Sivakumaran... You'll be kept guessing as to the killer's identity throughout... Will have you totally hooked.

Cold Sun is a stylish and exuberant, fish-out-of-water, crime thriller, in which former cricketer turned Scotland Yard detective, Vijay Patel, is sent to India to help with a murder investigation only to quickly find himself out of his depth when more victims are discovered. Patel isn't quite Indian enough to fit in and his British ideas about policing aren't entirely welcomed in this wonderfully observed, whip-smart, India-set thriller.
     
Anita Sivakumaran
Anita Sivakumaran was born in Madras and has lived in the UK since 2004. Her historical novel The Queen based on real events has been made into a major television series. Cold Sun is her...(+)
Books by Anita Sivakumaran
Black Rain (PB)