img

Sad Girl Novel

Pip Finkemeyer

Sad, happy, deluded, genius:
meet Kimberly.

'Unique and smart'
Emma Gannon
'I loved it' Laura Kay
'Weird and witty' Chloë Ashby
'Comic' Guardian

Maybe my main character will slowly lose their mind too. Novels usually need an abandoned woman going crazy in them.


An Australian expat in Berlin, Kim is jobless, rootless, and - as she's slowly discovering - somewhat useless.
That is until a chance encounter with Matthew, a hotshot New York literary agent, gives Kim the direction she's been craving. This year she will:

* Finally write her novel
* Decide what said novel is actually about
* Romantically pin down the increasingly flighty Matthew
* Be less jealous of sharing attention with best friend Bel's baby
* Convince her therapist that the amount of artichokes she eats doesn't classify as an eating disorder
* Stay sane in the process of achieving the above

Can sad girls ever have happy endings?

A laugh-out-loud-funny, addictive book book about growing up, finding your purpose and whether everyone really does have a novel within them, for fans of MONICA HEISEY, OTTESSA MOSHFEGH and COCO MELLORS.

  • Classification : GENERAL & LITERARY FICTION
  • Pub Date : FEB 8, 2024
  • Imprint : Hodder Paperbacks
  • Page Extent : 320
  • Binding : PB
  • ISBN : 9781399723572
  • Price : INR 699
image

Pip Finkemeyer

Pip Finkemeyer's fiction has been listed for the Desperate Literature Short Fiction Prize, the Richell Prize for Emerging Writers, the Disquiet Literary Prize and nominated for a Pushcart Prize. She co-founded the Berlin-based zine Nothing To See Here, and completed a Masters in Publishing and Editing at RMIT. She lives in Naarm/Melbourne and Sad Girl Novel is her first novel.

Advanced Search