img

Pelican Girls

Julia Malye

'Stunning, moving, and remarkable' Nguyen Phan Que Mai, internationally bestselling author of The Mountains Sing and Dust Child

'A celebration of complicity and love among women' Pilar Quintana, shortlisted for the National Book Award, author of The Bitch and Abyss

'I haven't been this swept away by a piece of historical fiction since Maggie O'Farrell's Hamnet' Jess Walter, bestselling author of Beautiful Ruins

Paris, 1720. The Hospice of La Salpêtrière is overrun with 'difficult' women.

Halfway around the world, on the American frontier, French settlers are in want of wives. At the asylum, a list is drawn up: eighty-eight women of childbearing age to be shipped to New Orleans. Among them are Charlotte, Geneviève and Pétronille - a sharp-tongued orphan, an accused abortionist and a rumoured madwoman.

They make the voyage over the ocean, knowing nothing of the harsh and extraordinary lives that await them, or how they will come to love and betray each other time and again in this wild and beautiful land.

Bold, thrilling and startling intimate, PELICAN GIRLS is a powerful vision of female friendship, identity and desire, and the choices women make in their unshakeable will to survive. For readers of Barbara Kingsolver, Lauren Groff and The Book of Goose by Yiyun Li.

'A tale of female friendship unlike any I've come across before, Julia Malye's inspired-by-a-true-story Pelican Girls is as incredible a feat of research as it is a daring work of fiction' Elle's Best (and Most Anticipated) Fiction Books of 2024

  • Classification : HISTORICAL FICTION
  • Pub Date : MAR 5, 2024
  • Imprint : Headline Review
  • Page Extent : 368
  • Binding : TPB
  • ISBN : 9781472298218
  • Price : INR 899
image

Julia Malye

Julia Malye is the author of three novels published in France; she works as a creative writing instructor at Sciences Po Paris and as a translator for Les Belles Lettres publishing house. In 2015, she moved to the United States to study the craft of fiction and graduated from Oregon State University's MFA program in 2017. Since 2015, she's taught writing to hundreds of students, both in the United States at Oregon State University, and in France at La Sorbonne Nouvelle, and Sciences Po Paris. Pelican Girls is her English-language debut, which she wrote concurrently in both French and English, and is being translated in twenty-five languages.

Discover more books

Advanced Search