That Affair Next Door

Anna Katherine Green

Before Miss Marple there was Amelia Butterworth!

The curious Miss Butterworth, a spinster "of Colonial ancestry and no inconsiderable importance in the social world", and "who has never experienced the doubtful bliss of marriage" lives alone in Manhattan's exclusive Gramercy Park. That Affair Next Door sees her being awakened by strange sound in the supposedly empty house next door and then its discovered that a mysterious murder has occurred there.

The inquisitive middle-aged spinster gets directly involved and though Detective Ebenezer Gryce leads the murder investigation, Miss Butterworth, undertakes her own search to try and unravel the mystery.

The novel effectively justifies Green's title as the mother of the American mystery novel, with its complex mystery plot, portrays intriguing characters, unexpected twists and keeps the reader on their toes until the very last page.

  • Classification : Classic Crime & Adventure/Thrillers
  • Pub Date : JUN 20, 2023
  • Imprint : YELLOWBACK
  • Page Extent : 364
  • Binding : PB
  • ISBN : 9789357311069
  • Price : INR 499

Anna Katherine Green

Anna Katharine Green (18461935) was an American poet and novelist but achieved fame for being among the first writers of detective fiction in America. Her crime writing was well plotted, legally and procedurally and she became a bestselling author.

Born in Brooklyn, New York, her early ambition was to write romantic poetry, and she corresponded with Ralph Waldo Emerson. But after her poetry failed to gain recognition, she produced her first and best-known novel, The Leavenworth Case (1878) with which she became a bestselling author, eventually publishing about 40 books. She was notable for succeeding in a genre dominated by male writers, but she did not approve of many of her feminist contemporaries, and she was opposed to women's suffrage. Her other works include A Strange Disappearance (1880), The Affair Next Door (1897), The Circular Study (1902), The Filigree Ball (1903), The Millionaire Baby (1905), The House in the Mist (1905), The Woman in the Alcove (1906), The House of the Whispering Pines (1910), Initials Only (1912), and The Mystery of the Hasty Arrow (1917).

Advanced Search