At The Villa Rose

A.E.W. Mason

Introducing Inspector Hanaud, one of the earliest whodunits that was to influence masters of the genre

Inspector Hanaud, the well-known French detective, is on holiday in Aix les Bains when he is asked by a young Englishman, Harry Wethermill, to investigate the murder of a wealthy widow, Mme Dauvray. Mme Dauvray has been strangled and her valuable jewels, which she wore 'with too little prudence', are missing. Celia Harland the beautiful girl who, it transpires, was Mme Dauvray's companion is missing. Everything points to Celia having been in cahoots with the murderer and having made off with Mme Dauvray's fabulous jewellery collection. But Wethermill cannot believe this of her, and wants Inspector Hanaud of the Paris Sûreté, to take on the case.

"One of the best, most artistic, most engrossing detective stories ever written" The British Weekly

  • Classification : Classic Crime & Adventure/Thrillers
  • Pub Date : JUN 20, 2023
  • Imprint : YELLOWBACK
  • Page Extent : 242
  • Binding : PB
  • ISBN : 9789357311366
  • Price : INR 399

A.E.W. Mason

A.E.W. Mason Major Alfred Edward Woodley Mason (7 May 1865 Dulwich, London - 22 November 1948 London) was a British author and politician.

He studied at Dulwich College and graduated from Trinity College, Oxford in 1888. He was a contemporary of fellow Liberal Anthony Hope, who went on to write the adventure novel The Prisoner of Zenda.

His first novel, A Romance of Wastdale, was published in 1895. He was the author of more than 20 books, including At The Villa RoseThe Four Feathers, which has been made into several films. Other books are (1924), No Other Tiger (1927), The Prisoner in the Opal (1929) and Fire Over England (1937), all published as Hodder yellowjackets.

Advanced Search