The Complete Just Men Volume 1 (4-books-in-1)

Edgar Wallace

Contains The Four Just Men, The Council of Justice, The Just Men of Cordova, and The Law of the Four Just Men

The book (and its sequels) that launched the greatest thriller writer of his time

"the Four do not go outside their promise. If they have threatened to kill in a certain manner at a certain time they will be punctual."

Edgar Wallace was a phenomenon, and quite possibly was the first thriller superbrand. This omnibus and its companion second volume  collects the first book that broke him out and its various sequels.

The Just Men was a series of six detective thriller novels published between 1905 and 1928. How the  first book was published is a sensational story in itself and is told within this edition. the adventures of the vigilante team known as the Just men --who were judge, jury, and executioner themselves going after men whom the law could not touch-- were instant bestsellers.

The Four Just men Starting with the sensational and impossible locked door mystery (though this one has a further twist in that the Four give advance warning of their intended killing). A Spanish resistance leader's safety is threatened by the passage through Parliament of the Aliens Extradition Bill. Four mysterious figures, "the four just men," warn the minister responsible for the bill that he faces death unless he withdraws the legislation.

The Council of Justice A new member has joined the Four Just Men to replace the one killed in the first book.. This time the four have to stop the Congress of the Red Hundred, an anarchist  terrorist group set on undermining England's democratic systems. And to complicate matters the police have got Manfred.

The Just men of Cordova The just men are up against Col. Black a businessman who seems to float ventures where dissenting people die.

The Law of the Four Just Men A collection of gripping stories featuring the exploits of the vigilantes.

  • Classification : Classic Crime & Adventure/Thrillers
  • Pub Date : JUN 20, 2023
  • Imprint : YELLOWBACK
  • Page Extent : 692
  • Binding : PB
  • ISBN : 9789357312080
  • Price : INR 899

Edgar Wallace

Richard Horatio Edgar Wallace was a British writer who virtually invented the thriller market and was the first to introduce police characters as leading protagonists rather than amateur sleuths.

Born into poverty as an illegitimate child in London, Wallace left school at the age of 12. He joined the army at age 21 and was a war correspondent during the Second Boer War for Reuters and the Daily Mail. Struggling with debt (he had a weakness for the horses), he left South Africa, returned to London and began writing thrillers to raise income, publishing books including The Four Just Men. Drawing on his time as a reporter in the Congo, Wallace serialised short stories in magazines and published adventure stories featuring his first series character Sanders of the River. He signed with Hodder and Stoughton in 1921 and became an internationally recognized author.

Wallace was such a prolific writer that it was claimed that one of every four books published in England were written by him. Apart from his reportage, Wallace wrote screen plays, poetry, historical non-fiction, 18 stage plays, 957 short stories and over 170 novels, 12 in 1929 alone. Over 160 films have been made from Wallace's work.

Discover more books

Advanced Search