img

Paper Dragons: The Fight for the Hidden Realm

Siobhan McDermott

WATERSTONES CHILDREN'S BOOK OF THE MONTH

'A soaring, luminous new world ... An absolute delight!' Jessica Townsend
'An incredibly original and immersive fantasy adventure' L.D. Lapinski
'An absolute feast for the senses' Nizrana Farook
'A thrillingly immersive story of courage, self-discovery, and magic' Sinead O'Hart

An extraordinary destiny unfolds . . .

Twelve-year-old Zhi Ging has always been an outcast. Until she receives an invitation to Hok Woh, an underwater school that offers her the chance to become immortal, and to finally belong.

There, she battles in hair-raising boat races, meets ageshifting tutors and competes in thrilling trials.

But there are rumours of a growing dark force . . . and students who fail the trials are disappearing. Can Zhi Ging uncover the truth before it's too late?

The first in the unmissable magical fantasy series of 2024, set to take the world by storm. Perfect for fans of Nevermoor and Dragon Mountain.

  • Classification : OLDER READERS (9-14)
  • Pub Date : FEB 1, 2024
  • Imprint : Hodder Children'S Books
  • Page Extent : 368
  • Binding : PB
  • ISBN : 9781444970142
  • Price : INR 599
image

Siobhan McDermott

Siobhan McDermott was born in Hong Kong and grew up on a steady stream of stories filled with Chinese legends and Irish folklore. She now lives in the UK and continues to order dim sum in Cantonese tinged with a distinctly Dublin lilt. Paper Dragons: The Fight for the Hidden Realm is her debut novel and was chosen as Waterstones Children's Book of the Month. Her debut was inspired by moments across her life: from childhood ferry trips between Lantau Island and Hong Kong, to travelling around Taiwan, Italy and Spain.

Advanced Search