The Daughter of Time

Josephine Tey

A mystery going back hundreds of years...

Scotland Yard Inspector Alan Grant is confined to bed and is bored. He is intrigued by a portrait of Richard III and wonders if such a sensitive face could actually belong to a heinous villain a king who was believed to have killed his brother's children to secure his crown. Grant is driven to delve deeper and deeper to unravel the mystery of the man Richard was and who in fact killed the princes in the tower.

The Daughter of Time was the last book Tey published in her lifetime, shortly before her death. In 1990, it was voted number one in The Top 100 Crime Novels of All Time list compiled by the British Crime Writers' Association. In 1995, it was voted number four in The Top 100 Mystery Novels of All Time list compiled by the Mystery Writers of America.

  • Classification : Classic Crime & Adventure/Thrillers
  • Pub Date : JUN 20, 2023
  • Imprint : YELLOWBACK
  • Page Extent : 191
  • Binding : PB
  • ISBN : 9789357310888
  • Price : INR 399

Josephine Tey

Josephine Tey (real name Elizabeth Mackintosh, and also used the pen name Gordon Daviot; 18961952), novelist and playwright, was born in Inverness on 25 July 1896. She had two younger sisters, Jane Ellis (known as Jean) and Mary Henrietta (known as Etta and later on as Moire).

Josephine Tey was the pseudonym under which 'Beth' Mackintosh published mystery novels and used her second pseudonym, Gordon Daviot, for plays.

Tey was fiercely private and avoided the press, shunned photographers, and never granted interviews. For this reason, and the fact that she kept a small tight circle of friends, very little biographical detail is available on her.

Her mystery novels are classics of their kind, deftly constructed with strong characterization and a meticulous prose style. Six of them feature as their main character the slightly built, dapper Inspector Alan Grant, a gentleman police officer 'not coarse like a bobby' (The Man in the Queue, 118) and with independent means 'to smooth and embroider life' (ibid, 35). Interestingly, Inspector Grant was one of the first Scotland Yard Detectives as opposed to the private detective or the gifted amateur to be introduced into the mystery writing genre, making his debut in 1929. (

Discover more books

Advanced Search