The Dorrington Deed-Box

Arthur Morrison

Detective, crook and sociopath!

The Dorrington Deed-Box is a collection of stories featuring cases of the unscrupulous London-based private detective Horace Dorrington, told from the viewpoint of one his clients and potential victims, James Rigby.

Morrison had previously written stories about a regular private detective Martin Hewitt (available as a yellowback), but with Dorrington he created a more cynical character. Horace Dorrington, of the firm Dorrington and Hicks, is no run-of-the-mill private enquiry agent. In fact Dorrington is someone who won't even stop at armed robbery or baulk at murder to achieve his ends. In an unusual departure from the standard tropes, these stories explore the darker side of Victorian detectives.

  • Classification : Classic Crime & Adventure/Thrillers
  • Pub Date : JUN 20, 2023
  • Imprint : YELLOWBACK
  • Page Extent : 196
  • Binding : PB
  • ISBN : 9789357310895
  • Price : INR 299

Arthur Morrison

Arthur George Morrison (18631945) was an English author and journalist, known for his realistic novels about London's East End and for his detective stories. In 1890, he left his job as a clerk at the People's Palace and joined the editorial staff of the Evening Globe newspaper. The following year, he published a story titled 'A Street', which was subsequently published in book form in Tales of Mean Streets (1894). Around this time, Morrison was also producing detective short stories which emulated those of Conan Doyle about Sherlock Holmes. Three volumes of Martin Hewitt stories were published before the publication of the novel for which Morrison is most famous: A Child of the Jago (1896). Other less well-received novels and stories followed, until Morrison effectively retired from writing fiction around 1913. Between then and his death, he seems to have concentrated on building his collection of Japanese prints and paintings.

Amongst his other works are Martin Hewitt: Investigator (1894), Zig-Zags at the Zoo (1894), Chronicles of Martin Hewitt (1895), Adventures of Martin Hewitt (1896), and The Hole in the Wall (1902).

Discover more books

Advanced Search